Saturday, September 3, 2011

In My Mailbox: August 29 - September 4, 2011

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren.


For Review:


My Beating Teenage Heart by C. K. Kelly Martin

Thanks to Mary at Random House!

Coming September 27, 2011!

Ashlyn Baptiste is falling. One moment she was nothing—no memories, no self—and then suddenly, she's plummeting through a sea of stars. Is she in a coma? She doesn't remember dying, and she has no memories of the life she left behind. All she knows is that she's trapped in a consciousness without a body and she's spending every moment watching a stranger.

Breckon Cody's on the edge. He's being ripped apart by grief so intense it literally hurts to breath. On the surface, Breckon is trying to hold it together for his family and his girlfriend, but underneath he's barely hanging on.

Even though she didn't know him in life, Ashlyn sees Breckon's pain, and she's determined to find a way help him. As her own distressing memories emerge from the darkness, she struggles to communicate with the boy who can't see her, but whose life is suddenly intertwined with hers. In alternating voices of the main characters, My Beating Teenage Heartpaints a devastatingly vivid picture of both the heartbreak and the promise of teenage life—a life Ashlyn would do anything to recover and Breckon seems desperate to destroy—and will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green, and David Levithan.


Bronxwood by Coe Booth

Thanks to Scholastic!

The acclaimed author of TYRELL and KENDRA returns to PUSH to continue Tyrell's astonishing story.

Tyrell's father is just out of jail, and Tyrell doesn't know how to deal with that. It's bad enough that his brother Troy is in foster care and that his mother is no help whatsoever. Now there's another thing up in his face, just when he's trying to settle down. Tyrell's father has plans of his own, and doesn't seem to care whether or not Tyrell wants to go along with them. Tyrell can see the crash that's coming — with his dad, with the rest of his family, with the girls he's seeing — but he's not sure he can stop it. Or if he even wants to.


Blood and Other Cravings edited by Ellen Datlow

Thanks to Tor!

Coming September 13, 2011!

When we think of vampires, instantly the image arises: fangs sunk deep into the throat of the victim. But bloodsucking is merely one form of vampirism. For this brilliantly original anthology, Ellen Datlow has commissioned stories from many of the most powerfully dark voices in contemporary horror, who conjure tales of vampirism that will chill readers to the marrow.

In addition to the traditional fanged vampires, Datlow presents stories about the leeching of emotion, the draining of the soul, and other dark deeds of predation and exploitation, infestation, and evisceration…tales of life essence, literal or metaphorical, stolen.

Seventeen stories, by such award-winning authors as Elizabeth Bear, Richard Bowes, Kathe Koja, Margo Lanagan, Carol Emshwiller, and Lisa Tuttle will petrify readers. With dark tales by Laird Barron, Barry Malzberg and Bill Pronzini, Kaaron Warren, and other powerful voices, this anthology will redefine the terror of vampires and vampirism.


Prized (Birthmarked #2) by Caragh M. O'Brien

Thanks to Roaring Brook Press and NetGalley!

Coming November 8, 2011!

Striking out into the wasteland with nothing but her baby sister, a handful of supplies, and a rumor to guide her, sixteen-year-old midwife Gaia Stone survives only to be captured by the people of Sylum, a dystopian society where women rule the men who drastically outnumber them, and a kiss is a crime. In order to see her sister again, Gaia must submit to their strict social code, but how can she deny her sense of justice, her curiosity, and everything in her heart that makes her whole?


Won:


Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Thanks to Macmillan and Misty at The Book Rat!

Gwyneth Shepherd's sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon--the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.


Bought:


Birthmarked by Caragh M. O'Brien

IN THE ENCLAVE, YOUR SCARS SET YOU APART, and the newly born will change the future.

Sixteen-year-old Gaia Stone and her mother faithfully deliver their quota of three infants every month. But when Gaia’s mother is brutally taken away by the very people she serves, Gaia must question whether the Enclave deserves such loyalty. A stunning adventure brought to life by a memorable heroine, this dystopian debut will have readers racing all the way to the dramatic finish.



Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. Together they follow legends and local lore, trying to keep up with the murderous dead—keeping pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

When they arrive in a new town in search of a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas doesn't expect anything outside of the ordinary: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

But she, for whatever reason, spares Cas's life.


I have been DYING to read My Beating Teenage Heart -- it sounds intense! I've also heard amazing things about Ruby Red and Anna Dressed in Blood -- I'm so glad they're finally out and in my hot little hands! I don't know where to start.

What's in your mailbox this week? Have you read Anna Dressed in Blood or Ruby Red?

15 comments:

Sophia said...

Really great haul this week! I'm so jealous that you have Prized. It sounds absolutely fantastic. :) Happy reading!!

Dead Trees and Silver Screens said...

Wow! How do you get so many awesome books to review. So cool!

danya said...

What an awesome mailbox week! I've heard lots of great things about Birthmarked, it has been on my tbr list for a while and I really must get to it soon! Also Ruby Red is a lot of fun, really entertaining (although be warned that as soon as you finish you will be wanting book 2!)

Vy (Vy's Blog) said...

My Beating Teenage Heart does sound intense! It sounds amazing :)

Kristina said...

Very good books you have gotten this week. Happy reading

Candace said...

Ruby Red was SO good! Birthmarked has been on my WL for AGES! I have Anna Dressed in Blood on it's way to me and Prized sounds amazing! My Beating Teenage Heart sounds really good too, I haven't heard much about it yet.
Enjoy all your books!

Amber Griffiths said...

I've been wanting to read Birthmarked for ages and ages. It sounds like a great book! Although I'm not a fan of the US cover.

Books of Amber

Sarah said...

My Beating Teenage Heart looks really good. I can't wait to pick up Anna Dressed in Blood, that looks amazing! Happy Reading :0)

Sarah @ The Book Life

Sarah said...

Wow you got some great books this week! They all look amazing :)

check out my in my mailbox!
http://sarahcatchingbooks.blogspot.com/2011/09/in-my-mailbox-10.html

chelleyreads said...

i read anna dressed in blood recently and i loved it. enjoy all your books--happy reading :)

-michelle

p.s. our IMM is HERE.

Evie said...

You got Anna Dressed in Blood!!!! GAAAAAhhhhhh *breathe, Evie, breathe...* Oh, I shouldn't over-react, as I am actually getting a copy, too the wonderful people from Tor Teen are actually sending me a copy of it, along with the Faerie Ring (ye ye yeeeaaahhh). And I am dying to go back to Vancouver and finally read it! :D
Enjoy it!

You got a whole lot of awesome book, my dear, I am looking forward to your reviews! <3

Lost In Literature said...

I've heard great things about Anna Dressed in Blood. Hope you enjoy!

My IMM
Lisa @ Lost in Literature

Ashley @ Book Labyrinth said...

I LOVED 'Ruby Red', it was so good!!

The Birthmarked books are insanely good as well.

Melissa (My World...in words and pages) said...

Oooo, some really great sounding books here. Congrats on your wins. And hope you have a wonderful week enjoying your books. :)

Misty said...

YAY! So glad it finally made it to you! =)

You Might Also Like:

Related Posts with Thumbnails